Faith Debugged

Spiritual Insights from an Exterminator

You’re Fired


I sat watching one of our techs walk out of the office shocked that that day was his last day working with our company. It felt like death. The quietness fell in that building so deep, it was a trudge to walk to our truck. The relationships that were formed were crushed. The security of financial backing was washed up. Being fired from a job is devastating. A world in complete order gets tossed around into sheer chaos.

This is exactly what happened to my life just mere days ago. Without warning, I was told I wasn’t needed anymore. Six months of termite studies, two state certifications, one state license, customer service experience, and given to my craft obliterated in one simple sentence by one person with power.

Being a man of faith, I’m thankful that the one with ultimate power has no desire to sit me down and say, “Kevin, I have to let you go.” I’ve messed up more in my spiritual life than I have in my work life. I’ve done more intentional wrongs toward God than I have toward my workplace. I’ve been more devoted to my work in pest control than I have to God at times and still I have never heard God tell me He has to let me go.

Pest control can be a seasonal job. So can our work in God. There are times when we don’t feel like being a Christian. We don’t feel like praying. We don’t feel like being nice to someone. We’d rather get on the internet than read our bible. We’d rather ignore someone who’s in need. There are seasons in our walk where we feel far from God because of our own doings. II Timothy says preach the word; be ready in season and out of season; reprove, rebuke, and exhort, with complete patience and teaching.

Our walk with God can sometimes be seasonal too, but I don’t have a God who fires me because He thinks I’m not wanted when I’m in an off-season. I am always wanted by God. You are always wanted by God. If you’re feeling the same way, if you’ve been fired from something you love, If you feel like you’ve lost it all and there is no light at the end of the tunnel, no answers, no feelings of joy, you ARE wanted… by God and you will never be let go.

 

Romans 8:35-39

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or danger, or sword? As it is written, “For your sake we are being killed all the day long; we are regarded as sheep to be slaughtered.” No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.

 

December 13, 2011 - Posted by | devotion | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Would love to hear your thoughts

