Faith Debugged

Spiritual Insights from an Exterminator

Dirty Jobs. Dirty Deeds.

What’s the dirtiest place you’ve ever found yourself in. The public trash dump? Cleaning out barn stalls? Changing a dirty diaper or a mess of vomit? Walking through a yard where the dog uses the bathroom? Maybe you work in oil and grease. Maybe you’re a vet and deal with sick animals. Maybe you’re a fellow exterminator. Whatever the case, we’ve all been in some moments that we didn’t want to be there because the stench or the place was the nastiest thing you’ve ever seen.

One of the worst accounts I’ve ever found myself in had roaches, fleas, ants, and mice. The kitchen was so riddled with roaches, they came out and greeted me when I walked in. they didn’t run away. There were literally thousands of roaches in every crevice of the bar, beside the stove, behind the fridge, in the drawers, in the kitchen closet, around the doors, throughout the cabinets. You didn’t have to look for them. They were everywhere in the kitchen and living room. Playstation, VCR, TV, and even the ferrets cage was riddled with roaches. No place was off-limits for these roaches.

The fleas were unbearable climbing all over me and no matter what I used to keep them off, it didn’t work. They were ruthless. They covered my pants and hid in my socks. They covered the carpets, the couch and chairs and made the dogs and ferret so uncomfortable.

The ants weren’t near as bad but they were present and making their way into the bathroom. I feared if they headed towards the kitchen they may find some resistance from the roaches. So they pretty much stayed towards the bathroom.

The mice were horrid. In the bathroom as well as under the sink in the kitchen, it was near impossible to see the floor. There was so much mice droppings it literally covered like a carpet. This was a serious health hazard.

The back door was missing a foot of the door at the bottom allowing her dogs to come and go as they please as well as any other animal that might find it well to come inside. As soon as it was time to move to the back yard to spray she realized she had a dead dog on her porch. This dog wasn’t dead earlier in the day.

I only wished I could explain how repulsed I was after leaving this place. It was the nastiest job I had ever encountered. When I left, I found the most remote place I could and literally stripped down to make sure I had nothing on me. As soon as I returned home, I showered and washed my clothes. When I laid in bed that night, the only thing I could think of was that homeowner was laying down to sleep as well… in that place. I cried!

When it comes to nastiness versus cleanliness, my sin is in no comparison to this home. This home is probably cleaner than my sin. My sin is revolting to God.

Isaiah  64:6

 All of us have become like one who is unclean, and all our righteous acts are like filthy rags;

Paul even speaks of those things that he had gained in life to the likeness of dung in comparison to Jesus’ righteousness. (Philippians 3:8) Everything he had done to accomplish his goals and be one of the greatest pharisees had become no less than a bowel movement in his eyes, something to flush down the toilet. Because in light of Christ, our righteousness is nonexistent.

When I walk into a house with so putrid of circumstances, the moment I walk in my stomach turns from the stench I can’t help but be reminded that my sin is just as sickening to God if not worse. Thankfully, God has the power to clean me up. He loves me enough to take me as I am but not leave me like He found me.

Thank God that by the power in the blood I can be washed clean though the amazing grace of God by faith! (Excuse my Christianise.)

September 9, 2011 Posted by | fleas, roaches | , , , | Leave a comment