Faith Debugged

Spiritual Insights from an Exterminator

Lead By Serving


Today I had the opportunity to see servant leadership in practice. I was drilling holes at a Kingdom Hall and the maintenance guy there was sitting and watching. He decided to get up and help. He displayed such servant-hood by sweeping up the concrete dust I was creating by drilling holes in the slab.

I know this might seem minor but to me it was a major detail. Firstly, I hate sweeping that dust up. It gets everywhere and it’s difficult to get it all up. Secondly, he didn’t have to. He was paying me to do the work. But he chose to help out. This is what it means to serve and by serving you become a leader. You demonstrate leadership by taking care of the necessities without being told and doing the work that’s not yours to do but you understand the “see a need fill a need” statement.

This is the epitome of Jesus’ point in his parable on humility. In Luke 14:7-11, it he says don’t sit at the head of the table. If someone more distinguished than you comes, the host will move you to the furthest seat. Yet sit at the back of the table so the host might honor you by moving you to a better seat.

11 For all those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.

Isn’t it true that you are led by those who tend to get their hands dirty rather than those who tend to look down on you as the grunt. I have a pastor who’s not afraid to clean the toilets at church. I’ll follow. I have a boss who’s not afraid to climb under a house. I’ll follow. I have friends who’s not afraid to pray in public. I’ll follow. I have a wife who’s not afraid to put her family’s needs before hers. I’ll follow.

If you’re a leader, I’m more apt to follow if your more likely to get dirty!

June 10, 2011 - Posted by | devotion, Leadership, Serving | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Would love to hear your thoughts

