Faith Debugged

Spiritual Insights from an Exterminator

Work It


Today I had to do a termite treatment. Actually I had two. It was dreadfully hot outside. By the time I reached the second treatment I was tired, sweaty, wore out and not happy about having to crawl under yet another house, stand in the hot burning sun while I rodded around a house and deal with questions from the customer. I plainly didn’t want to be there.

However, I climbed under, sprayed the foundation, climbed out sprayed the perimeter, took care of the garage, and shook off silly questions from the customer while I worked. I rested since it was hot, checked my Facebook, checked my twitter, drank some water before rolling up my hose and calling it a day.

I got the paperwork prepared and began talking to the customer under a shade tree and ran through the guarantee and contract. I got his signature and he began talking to me about all the remodeling he’s doing, how he really wants to get out to the country and so I just listened and every once and again nodding yeah.

I had mentioned church a couple of times so he decided to pry and asked me about church and come to find out he is a retired Army chaplain. We got to talking about all things church and I mentioned this book I’m writing. Talking about church opened my heart up and I was willing to engage more into our conversation. He mentioned he wasn’t attending a church at the moment so I invited him to ours and we shook hands and off I went.

I began to think about how my attitude suddenly changed after I found out the man was a Christian. Have you ever done that? Have you ever talked to some one with very little if any interest and after you found out you had something in common it was like you were talking to a different person altogether?

I began to think about how I would have engaged him more friendlier, if I would have done my job a little better since he was a pastor, if I would have been a little quicker and just been an all around more pleasant person to work on his house. How would have I done things different if I would have just known up front he was a Christian? Would I gave him the gold star treatment with a smile?

Have you ever done the same thing. Have you ever realized you could have been a better person around someone. Why do we do things better for those we have a common bond with than those we don’t? Especially Christians.

1 Corinthians 10:31 says “So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.” In context what Paul is telling the Corinthians is whatever you are doing in life, work as if your working for God and not man. Treat what you’re doing like your work is for the Lord. Jesus says in Matthew whatever you do for the least of these it’s as if you’re doing it for me. I believe this was also what he meant when Jesus said the second greatest commandment is like the first, love you neighbor as yourself.

So let us remember, than whatever we do in life, let us work it to the glory of God.

 

 

June 7, 2011 - Posted by | devotion, Termites | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Would love to hear your thoughts

