Faith Debugged

Spiritual Insights from an Exterminator

A Kink In The Hose


One the things I despise most is when I’m spraying a house and I get a kink in the hose. It cuts off my chemical and I have to go looking for the cause. Sometimes when I’m pulling the hose and it kinks, it will hang on just about anything. I’m convinced it will hang on a molecule of air if it could. It’s so bothersome.

Lately I’ve had the opportunity of training some guys for termite work and it’s always the same outcome. They come to me saying that the pressure just went down. I laugh and trace the hose down till I find the kink. It’s always there but they never stop to think that they may be just getting cut off and it’s not the pressure coming from the pump.

The other day this very thing happened to my trainee and I laughed. He got kinda upset because he thought it was a serious issue. I told him to follow me as we walked the path of the hose. The kink was hung up under some bushes so I pulled it out to show him. He just dropped his head and giggled. Undone the kink and crawled back under the house. Happens all the time.

Because I’m writing this book, I’ve been looking at everything that happens in the pest control world through spiritual eyes. The kink in the hose reminds me of things in our life that hinders us from being all God has created us to be. Just as the kink cuts off chemical supply, sin does the same for us. It cuts off the supply of the Holy spirit being proactive in our life.

I look at the story of Saul and how he became a great leader for Israel. Unfortunately he became a terrible king. He was anointed by God but because of his jealously for David, he couldn’t be the king the people needed him to be. Peter had an attitude problem. He let loose in fits of rage and couldn’t be the “petro” God wanted him to be to build his church on until he had an awakening of truth.

Although we can have the anointing, we can still hinder the spirit from completing His work in us because we are trying to serve two masters; God and sin. There are things in my life as well as I’m sure are in yours that hinder the good works of God because your choice in worship is not Him at times. It’s your selfish desires for things you want.

Paul said it best in a race analogy; Hebrews 12:1-3 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, 2 fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. 3 Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

Find the kink. Undo the kink. Keep on treating. Don’t let your life get kinked up with sin.

March 22, 2011 - Posted by | devotion | , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] A Kink In The Hose (faithdebugged.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by Spring and Garden Hoses « First Call | March 31, 2011 | Reply


Would love to hear your thoughts

