Faith Debugged

Spiritual Insights from an Exterminator

A Mediator


Today I made a mistake. I punched a hole in the wall trying to remove baseboards in a garage. My boss came over and called the homeowner to take a look at my carelessness. As they talked I sat on the tail gate of my truck and did not say a word. After a few moments they started laughing and I overheard her say that’s okay.

I’m not sure what they said to each other but what I do know is that the homeowner was not mad after their conversation. She walked by me smiling and said have a great day. I smiled back and he told me to complete the job but leave the baseboards alone. I jumped off my truck and finished my work.

In this case I never said one word to the homeowner. She seemed to have been in a good mood when she left. Who knows if it was ever a big deal but a hole in sheet rock seems to me to be a big deal. All I did was confess my mistake to my boss, tell him I was sorry, and he went to the homeowner and worked it out. I was redeemed from my screw up.

Remind you of anybody?

There is someone who speaks on our behalf, works things out so we can have eternal life. His name is Jesus and He’s our mediator. He stands in the gap that was caused by our sin. We take our petitions to Him and He in returns takes them to God.

1 Timothy 2:5 (New International Version, ©2010)

5 For there is one God and one mediator between God and mankind, the man Christ Jesus,


I would hate to see how far I could get if left on my own to speak for myself. I would hate to be my own lawyer in the eternal courtroom. I don’t think I’d be able to stand before the judge much less speak in defense of my soul. Besides what defense do I have?

Thank God I have a mediator that can plead the blood in my case. I’ll just sit back, keep my mouth shut and allow my lawyer Jesus Christ to speak in my defense!

March 1, 2011 - Posted by | devotion | , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. […] A Mediator (faithdebugged.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by Man and God | Cbcburke9's Blog | February 22, 2011 | Reply

  2. thats cool..i like that..

    Comment by scott perrin | March 1, 2011 | Reply


Would love to hear your thoughts

