Faith Debugged

Spiritual Insights from an Exterminator

A Selfish Blesser


The other day I had an opportunity to bless a friend. He had been looking for a tool to use with his guitar to make great music and I had one. At first I didn’t want to let it go but thinking how a friend of mine had blessed me with an amazing gift for my guitar, I decided to pay forward the favor.

Many times I find it more of a blessing to give. I love to watch people’s face light up when you do something out of the ordinary. It’s like your not supposed to do that. Your not supposed to give so generously.

Throughout 2 Corinthians 9, scripture tells us that giving what you have is more important than keeping it. Verse 5 – “finish the arrangements for the generous gift you had promised then it will be ready as a generous gift, not as one grudgingly given” Verse 6 – “Remember this: whoever sows sparingly reaps sparingly , and whoever sows generously will also reap generously.” Verse 8 – “And God is able to bless you abundantly…” Verse 12 – “This service that you perform is not only supplying the needs of the Lord’s people but is also overflowing in many expressions of thanks to God.”

I remember I was treating a customers house for ants and when I was finishing an elderly lady across the street asked me to visit her house when I was finished. Upon visiting the neighbor, she asked me to look at the ants she was having. Unfortunately she had no money and was not able to pay for a service, so I gave.

I spent much time assessing the situation and treating her house for ants. She was very thankful and asked if she could return the favor. I told her no and said Jesus loves her and so do I. I am so amazed at the spirit to give and the need that is so often put in front of me when I’m impressed to give.

Many times it blesses me to no limit when I choose to be a blessing to others. They say it’s better to give than to receive. I’m sure there is a fine margin between the two but it still rings true. If it is not more of a blessing to give than to receive, then you definitely need a heart check.

I’m a selfish blesser. I love to give because I love to be blessed. It’s a win/win situation.

February 15, 2011 - Posted by | devotion, giving | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Would love to hear your thoughts

