Faith Debugged

Spiritual Insights from an Exterminator

Not Gonna Work Here Anymore, Anyway


I was at a customer’s house doing a treatment for termites. They had a cellar/basement so the only way to get my hose to the treating area was to run it through the house. I hate doing that but sometimes ya just gotta do what ya gotta do.

While I was walking through I started talking to the fellow but he cut me off and started talking about something random; something about insurance. I told him I had no clue what he was talking about and then he shushed me off. After I walked past him I realized he wasn’t talking to me at all. He had one of those ear bud things in his ear and he was working from home.

Later I began to ask him a question and apologized to him because I realized he was working. He  apologized to me as well because he saw that I had a question and that I was working too.

Stop the train. He caught me off guard by telling me I was working too. Yeah he was right but something clicked inside and threw me for a loop. Something I didn’t realize.

I was working.

I mean I know I was at work, but I have convinced myself to the point that I am a servant serving. He caught me off guard by calling my service work. I was taken back for a moment because in this world a lot of times things look like work when they are really just serving.

I know sometimes I feel like I am in a thankless job and customers couldn’t care less that I am crawling in the mess under their house. “That’s my job, that’s what I do!” But I have altered my way of thinking I am a servant to my customers. I am there to serve them. They think it’s work. I think is serving.

I think the world would be a better place if folks would learn to serve one another. Work became service. Meaning we actually care about the outcome of our doing. The end result is full of consideration and effort, thought and attention. It is no longer an 8 hour day. It becomes a ministry not really in the religious aspect. But more in the aspect of administering to someone’s need.

Mark 9:35

Sitting down, Jesus called the Twelve and said, “If anyone wants to be first, he must be the very last, and the servant of all.”

February 8, 2011 - Posted by | devotion, Serving, Termites | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Would love to hear your thoughts

