Faith Debugged

Spiritual Insights from an Exterminator

He Will “Flea” From You


Dogs seem to be attracted to certain service people. Okay, maybe attracted isn’t the word but they sure like to let us know they are around. Some let us know in a welcoming way while others are not so welcoming. Some like to show us how great of a dentist they have by showing off their chompers. In any case dogs and service people have a relationship like none other.

I was treating a house for termites lately and some concrete people came by to see where to pour some concrete. When they got out of their truck, the dogs greeted them in the front yard with a hearty hello. I just stood at the corner and laughed to myself because it was obvious the dogs could smell the fear in those guys. They stood by their trucks not wanting to move another inch while the dogs continued to welcome scare them.

Over time I have learned no matter the size of the dog or the loudness of their bark, if you show them no fear then they seem to be rendered helpless. It’s almost like a scare tactic that’s been muffled so to speak. Normally when I get out of my truck I talk to them so nicely and kneel down to their level and greet them with a soft tone that they come to me wagging their tail.

Other times they continue to bark savagely so I ignore them and continue about my business. I’ve never had a problem with dogs. Now if they’re fenced in I won’t go near them because obviously the homeowner know more about them than I do and they were smart enough to fence them in so they wouldn’t hurt anybody. But for the most part I’ve never had a problem with dogs because I call their bluff. They’re just trying to be protective and I understand their position. They do a fine job of it as well. But I’m for sure most of the time their bark is way bigger than their bite.

Which brings me to my point. I’m reminded of a scripture when these dogs begin to defend their territory. James 4:7 says, “Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.” The devil has a mean bark and has only the authority God has given him. He can only do so much yet we have the power of the Holy Spirit to make him run. If we are bold enough to stand up to his loud barking and teeth showing and tell him to take a hike, he has to. He will run because greater is he that’s in us than he that is in the world.

Sadly a lot of times were too scared of him. When in actuality he’s really just too scared of the power that exists in us. So he attempts to be this big bully because of his own fear in hopes that he may can strike fear in us. But he just has a loud bark. Do not let him scare you. 2 Timothy 1:7 says, “For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline.”

We have the power to make the devil run.I encourage you when you get out of your car of ministry and the devil tries to scare you with his loud barking and teeth showing, that you ignore him and continue on. You speak against him, resist his temptations and submit yourself to God and he has no choice but to flee from you.

November 7, 2010 - Posted by | devotion | , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Carlo, Kevin Riner and Kevin Riner, Kevin Riner. Kevin Riner said: New blog post- He Will "Flea" From You: http://t.co/st4AUtD […]

    Pingback by Tweets that mention He Will “Flea” From You « Faith Debugged -- Topsy.com | November 7, 2010 | Reply


Would love to hear your thoughts

