Faith Debugged

Spiritual Insights from an Exterminator

Serving Ain’t So Bad


Today I was unaware that the termite treatment I would be doing was a very large job. On graph it looked like a normal job that might be finished by 2 or 3 o’ clock. what I didn’t know was that the customer wanted me to go above and beyond standard treatment requirements.

I won’t go into details on the extra work I was asked by the customer to do. I will say he was an older gentlemen and did not have the information and knowledge to know that the newer chemicals did not require the work the older chemicals had required for years. His expectation was for me to treat his house under old chemical label standards. Of course I tried to convince him otherwise but he wouldn’t have it. So under my breath I argued that this was gonna be a long day.

I was not happy that I had to do twice the work when it was not needed. I commenced to doing as he asked and I worked ten hours to treat his house. After I was done, he told me I had done a great job and he had appreciated my attitude. I’m not sure who or what he was talking about because I will admit I had a very bad attitude knowing I was doing more work than required.

He told me because of my good work, that he would have our company do all his work from now on and that he would only have me do the work. If I was busy he would wait on me to finish so that he could have only me do the work he would need in the future.

So as I drove away I came away with two thoughts on my whole situation today.

1. Although state requirements are stated and labels are written, going above and beyond your minimum requirements is a great way to serve. I’m reminded where Jesus told the pharisees to render unto Caesar what his and render unto God what’s His. As long as going above and beyond does not go against God’s (state’s) requirements it’s ok to do more than required. This is called having a servant’s heart. So render unto the customer as much as they want, just don’t go against what God requires.

2. Sometimes we NEED to be urged or even commanded to do something to realize it’s not all that bad. Like a child being told to at least try food before saying they don’t like it. I used to be a rather selfish person. So in God’s crazy humor, he placed me into a service oriented business so I may learn to be a servant. I’m not saying everyone needs to be forced but I know I need to be. Many times I’ve found that some things really aren’t that bad if I’m made to do something, then realize that wasn’t all that bad.

So what do you think. Is there something that you were forced to do and realize it wasn’t all that bad? Have you ever had a poor attitude about something to either be made to feel low by the one you were being crabby with or to realize it wasn’t as bad as you thought it was?

October 5, 2010 - Posted by | Serving

3 Comments »

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Carlo and Kevin Riner, Kevin Riner. Kevin Riner said: New Blog Post- "Serving Ain't So Bad": http://t.co/sGp4pSH #fb […]

    Pingback by Tweets that mention Serving Ain’t So Bad « Faith Debugged -- Topsy.com | October 5, 2010 | Reply

  2. Kevin, I am so proud of you and I know your Mom and whole family is too. You have a wonderful knack for expressing yourself and writing where people can easily understand. I look forward to reading your book one day!! Keep up the good work and give that sweet Levi a hug from his great great Aunt!

    Comment by Aunt Gayle Crick White | October 5, 2010 | Reply

  3. Aunt Gayle I really appreciate you comment. I struggle to sometimes write profoundly but often wonder did God give me a gift of simplicity so not to go over folks head with the simplicity of the gospel.

    Comment by Kevin Riner | October 6, 2010 | Reply


Would love to hear your thoughts

